Seals in Revelation

First Seal – White Horse

The rider goes forth to conquer. (Revelation 6:1-2)


Second Seal – Red Horse

This rider takes peace from the earth and causes people to kill one another.(Revelation 6:3-4) the Apostle Paul talks about Jesus coming as a thief in the night. Just prior to that people will be saying “peace and safety” and the sudden destruction will come. (1 Thessalonians 5:1-3)


Third Seal – Black Horse

This rider mentions food, oil, and wine with the potential implication of famine following the destruction caused by the first two riders.  (Revelation 6:5-6)


Fourth Seal – Pale Horse

This rider’s name is Death, and Hell follows with him.He kills 1/4 of the earth’s population with a sword, hunger, death, and the beasts of the earth.  (Revelation 6:7-8)


Fifth Seal – Souls of Martyrs Slain

John sees the souls of them that were slain for the word of God, and for the testimony which they held. They seek to be avenged for their martyrdom and are told to wait until their fellowservants also and their brethren, that should be killed as they were, should be fulfilled. (Revelation 6:9-11)


144,000 Sealed

Before destruction can come upon the earth, sea, or trees, 12,000 people must be sealed from each of the 12 tribes of Israel (Revelation 7:1-8).


Seventh Seal – Silence in Heaven and Seven Trumpets

The 7th seal causes silence in heaven for about half an hour. The prayers of the saints ascend to God, and 7 angels with trumpets prepare to sound. (Revelation 8:1-6)